Home Forums Topics Player Development Drill Bank

Drill Bank

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

Coaches,

During this time of being away from our basketball players/team I wanted to create a drill library. I was hoping to create one for drills that we use in practice a long with ones I could use for individual player development that we could use in the summer in the future and this summer as our players are away from us. We are using a read and react offense and love to use SSGs for development. I was hoping to create a document with links to videos or diagrams of the drill. I know that this is something that many of you have already developed, as a young coach I have yet to do so. I was hoping to accomplish this now while away from our players. I was wondering if anyone had already begun doing this that would be willing share any insight.

Thanks,

Nik

Anonymous
    Inactive

Nikolaus, 

Here is something I share with all guards, especially young guards. 

BFS is a proprietary program that has been around a long time. I invented the shuttle run. The total distance covered comes out equal to the length of  high school court. 

It is a place to start, and we quickly add, modify the plan. 

GUARD DEVELOPMENT.docx
    BFS Dot drill.pdf
    BFS stretches 1.pdf
    BFS stretches 2.pdf
    Shuttle run.pdf

Attachments:

Anonymous
    Inactive

Thanks @Doug Smith for sharing and @Nikolaus Schweikert for the thread. Fellow youngish (turned 30 yesterday) head coach here and I’m trying to do the same thing.

The GUARD DEVELOPMENT doc is awesome–reminds me of a Point Guard College classroom session right before we go play RACECAR for a 20 minute segment ?

Also @Nikolaus Schweikert you should jump on Twitter and give Rudy Bentley a follow. His handle is @rudybentleyjr