Home Forums Topics General Need some encouragement

Need some encouragement

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

Hey y’all,

This community has been my FAVORITE since I started in the fall of 2019. The relationships built and just knowledge gained from Key5 constantly blesses my heart. Therefore I’m struggling right now and figured I would reach out for some words of encouragement 

My first year as a Varsity HC – we finished our season 10-6 – 3rd in conference – best finish since joining the current conference we are in and first winning record in 3-4 years.  This was not expected.

I know I am a great coach, with room for improvement and to master my craft – BUT our process here at our school is to have “coach evaluations filled out by our student-athletes”  I don’t agree that 15-17 year olds should be evaluating a coach – because if they are not satisfied with PT,  don’t feel like a favorite (coach’s have favorites!) etc it will never be positive. Therefore I am just a little discouraged because players negative comments are shared in the evaluation, not positive ones. I thrive on relationships, would run through a wall for my team and do anything to help them be successful – so hearing all the negatives make you doubt that what you are doing is right and that you are actually making a difference.

I know I probably am, and I know/pray at the end of the day the girls feel cared about, but just struggle with the second guessing of it all and that all that I’ve been working towards program, culture building etc. is actually impacting the girls in a positive way. 

I don’t agree with the process the AD knows that, so I’m mad I had to sit through and listen to the evaluation anyway. Any encouragement would be accepted! Thanks for letting me vulnerable for a hot second!

Anonymous
    Inactive